PERIAL Positive 2030

The PERIAL Positive 2030 program defines PERIAL Group’s vision for the coming years and sets ambitious targets for improving the impact of the company and the funds it manages based on 3 pillars: climate, community and territories.

In order to accomplish this, PERIAL AM has developed a methodology and tools to structure its Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG) approach. Each real estate asset receives a score out of 100, which takes into account 60 ESG criteria. This score is calculated during the pre-acquisition period and updated annually.

These criteria include:

  • 11 related to the greenhouse gas emissions responsible for climate change
  • 11 related to users’ health and comfort
  • 5 related to biodiversity
  • 2 related to the climate resilience of the region

These issues are also identified in the risk mapping, which is established and updated on an annual basis by the management company, since they can potentially affect the performance of the property assets.

Climate

Worldwide, the building and construction sector is responsible for 39% of energy-related CO2 emissions – source: International Energy Agency

PERIAL AM analyzes the criteria related to greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions for technical equipment and the French energy performance diagnosis (DPE). Improvement actions are identified to reduce GHG emissions as soon as the asset is acquired, in accordance with the objectives defined for the fund and asset.

Health and comfort

90% of our time is spent inside buildings, which have an effect on our physical, mental and social health – source: IWBI - International WELL Building Institute

Several criteria related to tenants’ health and comfort are analyzed to measure the health quality and comfort of the buildings. The objectives established by the PERIAL Positive 2030 program in this area aim to improve the measured and perceived health and comfort levels.

Biodiversity

The current biodiversity loss and species extinction rate is estimated between 100 and 1,000 higher than the natural rate of extinction - source: IPBES - The Intergovernmental Science-Policy Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services

To promote biodiversity, an analysis of the plot’s planted area is conducted. Other aspects of the site are also studied, such as the presence of local biodiversity initiatives, the existence of an environmental analysis or responsible maintenance contract, and biodiversity-related labels or certification. As part of the PERIAL Positive 2030 program, PERIAL AM set the objective of improving the contribution of its real estate holdings to local biodiversity by 2030.

Climate resilience

The annual average damage caused by earthquakes, tsunamis, tropical storms and floods is estimated at $100 billion – source: Green Building Observatory (OID)

PERIAL AM systematically analyzes the physical risks linked to climate change for each real estate asset in mainland France during the pre-acquisition period using the Bat-Adapt’ tool developed by the Green Building Observatory (OID). This analysis reveals the means required to limit the assets’ vulnerability to climate risks. The Property Managers then act on behalf of PERIAL AM to take steps relating to the organization, renovation, operation and communication of the properties in order to reduce the impact of these climate risks.

Asset by asset assessment

In order to achieve these non-financial objectives for the funds, annual action plans are established for each building, featuring initiatives that promote environmental performance.

Energy and water consumption is recorded in common and private spaces, with the tenants’ assistance. This data is consolidated on a digital platform. If the data cannot be obtained, extrapolations are made based on good practices in the sector, such as place benchmarks (Green Building Observatory-OID), or on data from previous years.

The limits of this ESG approach

Our approach is dependent on the quality of the consumption data collected by the tenants at our buildings and our service providers. Their commitment to the action plans is therefore essential. The cost of the work required to improve the energy performance is calculated during the pre-acquisition phase. This budget must be compatible with the fund’s financial objectives.

A dedicated team

A team of fifteen experts work for PERIAL Asset Management to verify, validate and analyze the data collected from the field in order to adjust the responsible management strategies for each building and fund.

Responsible governance

Since all PERIAL AM staff are committed to achieving the PERIAL Positive 2030 objectives, the current compensation policy is in keeping with the management company’s approach to sustainability risks, which refers to external environmental, social and governance risks, by discouraging excessive risk-taking.

Non-financial objectives have been established for certain staff members in the real estate division (asset managers, managers, technicians, sustainable development managers, investment officers, portfolio managers), with an impact on their fixed and/or variable compensation. These types of objectives are gradually being integrated into other departments through annual assessment campaigns. Finally, all staff members were tested on their knowledge of ESG issues during the last annual assessment campaign.

PERIAL AM complies with all the codes of responsible corporate behavior and applies the international standards in terms of due diligence and transparency. These rules are part of the company’s code of ethics and are passed on to service providers by means of the ESG commitment charter.

0 0

PERIAL Positive 2030

PERIAL AM est conscient que l’activité immobilière est au cœur d’enjeux majeurs qui l’impactent et réciproquement, en particulier, le changement climatique, l’érosion de la biodiversité, la santé des utilisateurs ou encore la dynamique économique territoriale. Fort de ce constat, PERIAL AM a structuré le programme PERIAL Positive 2030, qui définit sa vision pour les années à venir et fixe d’ambitieux objectifs d’amélioration des impacts de la société et des fonds gérés autour de 3 piliers : le climat, la communauté, le territoire.

Pour cela, PERIAL AM a en outre élaboré une méthodologie et des outils structurant sa démarche Environnementale, Sociétale et de Gouvernance (ESG). Chaque actif immobilier fait ainsi l’objet d’une note sur 100 prenant en compte 60 critères ESG. Cette note est calculée dès la préacquisition et mise à jour annuellement.

Parmi ces critères :

  • 11 concernent les émissions de gaz à effet de serre, responsables du changement climatique
  • 11 concernent la santé et le confort des utilisateurs
  • 5 concernent la biodiversité
  • 2 concernent la résilience climatique à l’échelle du territoire

Ces enjeux sont également identifiés dans la cartographie des risques, élaborée et mise à jour annuellement par la société de gestion, car ils sont notamment susceptibles d’impacter la performance des actifs immobiliers.

Climat

A l’échelle mondiale, le secteur du bâtiment et de la construction sont responsables de 39% des émissions de CO2 liées à l’énergie - source : Agence Internationale de l’Energie

PERIAL AM analyse les critères liés aux émissions de Gaz à Effet de Serre (GES) relatifs aux équipements techniques et au Diagnostic de Performance Energétique (DPE). Des actions d’amélioration sont identifiées dès l’acquisition pour réduire les émissions de GES, conformément aux objectifs définis à l’échelle des fonds et du patrimoine.

Santé et confort

90% de notre temps est passé à l’intérieur des bâtiments, qui influent sur notre état de santé physique, mentale et sociale – source : IWBI - International WELL Building Institute

Concernant la santé et le confort des locataires, plusieurs critères sont analysés, permettant de mesurer la qualité sanitaire et de confort des espaces. Les objectifs fixés par PERIAL Positive 2030 sur ce sujet visent à améliorer le niveau de confort et de santé mesuré et ressenti.

Biodiversité

La vitesse actuelle de perte de biodiversité et de disparition des espèces est estimée entre 100 et 1.000 fois supérieure au taux naturel d’extinction – source : IPBES - The Intergovernmental Science-Policy Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services

En matière de biodiversité, une analyse de la part de surface végétalisée de la parcelle est réalisée. La présence de supports de biodiversité locale, l’existence de diagnostic écologique, d’un contrat d’entretien vertueux ou encore d’un label ou d’une certification valorisant la biodiversité sur le site sont également étudiées. Dans le cadre de PERIAL Positive 2030, PERIAL AM s’est fixé un objectif d’amélioration de la contribution des actifs immobiliers du patrimoine des fonds à la biodiversité locale à horizon 2030.

Résilience climatique

Les dommages annuels moyens causés par les séismes, tsunamis, tempêtes tropicales et inondations sont estimés à 100 milliards de dollars – source : Observatoire de l’Immobilier Durable

PERIAL AM analyse systématiquement les risques physiques liés au changement climatique pour chacun des actifs immobiliers en France métropolitaine, et ce dès la phase de préacquisition, grâce à l’outil Bat-Adapt’, développé par l’Observatoire de l’Immobilier Durable. Cette analyse permet de déterminer les moyens à mettre en œuvre pour limiter la vulnérabilité des actifs face aux risques climatiques. Des actions en termes d’organisation, de travaux, d’exploitation ou de communication sont notamment mises en place avec l’aide des Property Managers intervenant pour le compte de PERIAL AM pour réduire l'impact de ces risques climatiques sur les bâtiments.

Une évaluation actif par actif

Pour atteindre les objectifs extra-financiers des fonds, des plans d'action annuels sont définis pour chaque immeuble, intégrant des actions en matière de performance environnementale.

Les consommations d'énergie et d'eau sont collectées sur les parties communes et privatives, avec la participation des locataires. Une plateforme digitale centralise ces données. Dans le cas où les données ne pourraient être obtenues, des extrapolations sont réalisées sur la base des bonnes pratiques du secteur : utilisation des benchmarks de place (Observatoire de l'Immobilier Durable), extrapolation de données issues d'années précédentes...

Les limites de cette démarche ESG

Notre démarche est conditionnée à la qualité des données de consommation collectées de la part notamment des locataires de nos immeubles et de nos prestataires de services. Leurs adhésions aux plans d’actions sont donc essentielles. En phase d’acquisition, sont évalués les coûts nécessaires aux travaux d’amélioration en matière de performance énergétique. Ce budget doit être compatible avec les objectifs financiers du fonds.

Une équipe dédiée

Une équipe d’une quinzaine d'experts intégrée aux effectifs de PERIAL Asset management vérifie, valide et analyse les données collectées sur le terrain pour ajuster les stratégies de gestion responsables de chaque immeuble et de chaque fonds.

Une gouvernance responsable

L’ensemble des collaborateurs PERIAL AM étant engagés dans l’atteinte des objectifs de PERIAL Positive 2030, la politique de rémunération en vigueur est cohérente avec l’approche de la société de gestion en matière de risques dits de durabilité, c’est-à-dire les risques environnementaux, sociaux ou de gouvernance extérieurs, en n’encourageant pas les prises de risques démesurées. 

A ce jour, des objectifs de nature extra-financière ont été fixés pour certains collaborateurs, en particulier ceux intervenant sur le pôle immobilier (Asset managers, Gestionnaires, Techniciens, Chargés de développement durable, Investissement, Portfolio Management), impactant leur rémunération fixe et/ou variable. D’autres directions seront progressivement concernées par l’intégration de ce type d’objectifs, au fur et à mesure des campagnes d’évaluation annuelles. Enfin, tous les collaborateurs et collaboratrices ont été évaluées sur leur connaissance des enjeux ESG lors de la dernière campagne d’évaluation annuelle.

PERIAL AM respecte l’ensemble des codes relatifs à un comportement responsable des entreprises et applique les normes internationales en matière de diligence raisonnable et de transparence. Ces règles s’inscrivent notamment dans le code de déontologie de la société et sont répercutées à ses prestataires par le biais d’une charte d’engagement ESG. 

0 0