Our ESG strategy for the PFO2 REIT

Immeuble stratégie ESG de PFO2
PFO2 takes environmental, social and governance (ESG) issues into account in the implementation of its investment strategy and asset management. The investments are selected based on their ESG attributes or their potential for improvement and compatibility with the non-financial objectives for the funds, in addition to the financial performance objectives

The PFO2 REIT obtained the real estate SRI Label in December 2020

The PFO2 REIT’s commitment to the environment since it was first launched in 2009 has certainly paid off. It now has a capitalization of over €2 billion. 60 criteria are constantly assessed for over 200 buildings, which means that the REIT assesses and improves over 12,000 ESG criteria for its property portfolio.This increases the impact of its ESG approach.

PERIAL Asset Management uses the “Best-in-Progress” principle to manage the PFO₂ REIT by seeking to improve the ESG score of the real estate assets, which represent at least 90% of PFO₂’s net assets, and to define a suitable plan for improving each asset in order to achieve the following objectives within eight years of acquiring the asset:

  • 40% reduction in primary energy consumption or achieving an annual consumption threshold of 200 kWhPE/m²;
  • 30% reduction in water consumption or achieving a daily consumption threshold of 45 liters/person;

The reduction of energy consumption, and the related reduction of greenhouse gas emissions, help to mitigate the impact of the PFO₂ property portfolio on climate change.

A collective approach

The right balance, resulting in the achievement of the targets for the reduction of energy and water consumption, is dependent on the quality and completeness of the consumption data collected. This depends on the commitment to this approach and to ESG targets in general on the part of all those who use the buildings, such as tenants and service providers.

Velizy-Villacoublay (78)

  • Replacement of the façades
  • Installation of a heating/cooling system
  • Installation of a double-flow ventilation system with energy recovery
  • Increased roof insulation
  • Installation of charging stations for electric vehicles

This redevelopment, combined with upgrading of services resulted in the following benefits:

  • A rent increase of +56% after the redevelopment
  • A +76% increase in the appraised value after the redevelopment

Asset by asset assessment

In order to reach these objectives, annual action plans are drawn up for each asset, featuring initiatives that promote environmental performance. Energy and water consumption are recorded in common and private spaces, with the tenants’ assistance. This data is consolidated on a digital platform.

If the data cannot be obtained, extrapolations are made based on good practices in the sector, such as place benchmarks (The French Sustainable Real Estate Observatory-OID), or on data from previous years.

Cette démarche présente toutefois certaines limites puisque l’atteinte des objectifs est subordonnée à la qualité et à la complétude des données collectées, au montant des dépenses d’investissement nécessaires pour atteindre ces objectifs et à l’engagement en matière ESG des différentes parties impliquées dans l’utilisation de l’immeuble (locataires, prestataires immobiliers…). 

Orsay (91)

  • Reduction of operating periods for production equipment
  • Introduction of motion sensor lights for outdoor lighting
  • Participation in the CUBE 2020 competition Mobilization of all the relevant stakeholders

 

The implementation of these various actions led to a 17% improvement in the building’s energy performance between 2016 and 2017.

Evaluation grid

In order to assess the ESG performance of each asset, PERIAL AM produced an evaluation grid to give each asset a score between 0 and 100 based on the following criteria (non-exhaustive list):

  • environmental criteria, such as a building’s energy performance, greenhouse gas emissions, water and waste management, biodiversity and any certification or labels earned for the asset;
  • social criteria, such as site mobility and accessibility, the health and comfort of occupants, services provided to occupants, contributions to local development, and certification or labels earned for the asset in the area of health, well-being or connectivity; and
  • governance, such as management of the management company’s subcontracting chain, tenant, user and local community relations, resilience to security and climate risks, and the existence of CSR policies introduced by the tenant(s).

Saint-Priest (69)

  • Introduction of a control system for the heating/cooling production and distribution system
  • Gradual improvement of operating periods
  • Shutdown of terminals in the evening and on the weekend
  • BREEAM-in-Use certification

 

The implementation of these various actions led to a 22% improvement in the building’s energy performance between 2013 and 2014.

A dedicated team

The data for each asset is collected by our 15-strong team of technical and environmental experts through Property Managers, who assist with PFO2 assets and, if necessary, bring in the services of specialist engineering firms. A team in charge of the PERIAL AM responsible investment policy verifies and validates the collected data.

The ESG score is updated annually for each asset.

Disclosure Regulation

The PFO2 REIT is classified according to Article 9 of the Disclosure Regulation.

PERIAL Positive 2030

For more information on how PERIAL AM takes into account the reciprocal impact of real estate and key environmental, social and governance principles, please see the PERIAL Positive 2030 page and the appendix to the Information Sheet on product sustainability.

0 0

La stratégie ESG de PFO2

Immeuble stratégie ESG de PFO2
PFO2 prend en compte les critères environnementaux, sociétaux et de gouvernance (ESG) dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre de sa stratégie d’investissement et dans sa gestion des actifs. Les investissements sont sélectionnés au regard de leurs caractéristiques ESG ou de leur potentiel d’amélioration et de leur compatibilité avec l’objectif de gestion extra-financier, en plus des objectifs de performance financière.

PERIAL Asset Management adopte une approche dite « Best-in-Progress » pour gérer la SCPI PFO₂, recherchant l’amélioration de la note ESG des actifs immobiliers représentant 90% minimum de l’actif net de PFO₂, et définit un plan d’amélioration adapté pour chacun des actifs permettant d’atteindre les objectifs suivants, sur une durée de huit ans après l’acquisition de l’actif : 

  • réduction de 40% de la consommation d’énergie primaire ou atteinte d’un seuil de consommation annuelle de 200 kWhEP / m² ; 

  • réduction de 30% de la consommation en eau ou atteinte d’un seuil de consommation journalière de 45 litres / personne.

Une démarche collective

La juste mesure et donc l’atteinte des objectifs de réduction de la consommation énergétique et de la consommation en eau dépend notamment de la qualité et de la complétude des données de consommation collectées. L’engagement dans la démarche, et en matière ESG en général, des différentes parties impliquées dans l’utilisation des immeubles, les locataires et les prestataires de services, est donc déterminant.

Velizy-Villacoublay (78)

  • Remplacement des façades
  • Installation d'un système de chauffage/rafraichissement
  • Installation d'une ventilation double flux à récupération
  • Renforcement de l’isolation des toitures
  • Installation de bornes pour véhicules électriques

Cette restructuration associée à une mise à niveaux des prestations a permis une :

  • Revalorisation de +56% du loyer après restructuration
  • Revalorisation de +76% de la valeur d'expertise après restructuration

Une évaluation actif par actif 

Pour atteindre ces objectifs, des plans d'action annuels sont définis pour chaque actif, intégrant des actions en matière de performance environnementale. Les consommations d'énergie et d'eau sont collectées sur les parties communes et privatives, avec la participation des locataires. Une plateforme digitale centralise ces données.  

Dans le cas où les données ne pourraient être obtenues, des extrapolations sont réalisées sur la base des bonnes pratiques du secteur : utilisation des benchmarks de place (Observatoire de l'Immobilier Durable), extrapolation de données issues d'années précédentes... 

Orsay (91)

  • Réduction des plages horaires de fonctionnement des équipements de production
  • Mise en place de détection de présence pour l'éclairage extérieur
  • Participation au concours CUBE 2020. Mobilisation de l’ensemble des parties prenantes.

La mise en place de ces différentes actions a permis une amélioration de 17% des performances énergétiques du bâtiment entre l'année 2016 et 2017.

Grille d'analyse

Afin de noter chaque actif selon ses performance ESG, PERIAL AM a défini une grille d’analyse extra-financière notant de 0 à 100 chaque actif et portant sur les critères suivants (liste non exhaustive) : 

  • environnementaux tels que la performance énergétique, les émissions de gaz à effet de serre du bâtiment, la gestion de l’eau et des déchets, la biodiversité et la certification ou labellisation de l’actif ; 

  • sociétaux, tels que la mobilité et l’accessibilité du site, la santé et le confort des occupants, les  services rendus aux occupants, la contribution au développement local et la certification ou  labellisation de l’actif concernant la santé et le bien-être ou la connectivité ; et 

  • de gouvernance, tels que la gestion de la chaîne de sous-traitance de la Société de Gestion, les  relations locataires, usagers et riverains, la résilience face aux risques sécuritaires et climatiques et  l’existence de politiques RSE mises en place par les locataire(s). 

Saint-Priest (69)

  • Mise en place d'un système de pilotage de la production et distribution du chauffage/rafraichissement
  • Optimisation progressive des plages de fonctionnement
  • Mise à l'arrêt des terminaux la nuit et le week-end
  • Certification BREEAM-in-Use

La mise en place de ces différentes actions a permis une amélioration de 22% des performances énergétiques du bâtiment entre l'année 2013 et 2014.

Une équipe dédiée

Les données sont collectées sur chaque actif grâce à notre équipe d'experts en matière technique et environnementale (15 personnes environ), par l'intermédiaire des Property Managers intervenant sur le patrimoine de PFO2 et en cas de besoin en ayant recours également à des bureaux d'études techniques spécialisés. Une équipe en charge de la politique d'investissement responsable de PERIAL AM se charge de vérifier et de valider les données collectées. 

La note ESG est mise à jour annuellement pour chaque actif. 

0